Community Drumming for Women, Youth and Two Spirit Voices

** Notice: Arts Commons is currently shut down and we will need to postpone drumming. We will keep you posted on when we will be returning. My apologies. 

Raise your voice

Build Community

Drum, Sing & Learn songs from across Turtle Island.

Tuesdays @ 6:30pm - 8:30pm we will host a welcoming drumming & songs circle. Drumming and singing together builds community, ushers in healing, develops relationships and honours our shared connection to the land. Chantal Chagnon will host the community gathering each week, sharing songs, stories and her drums. We will also be inviting elders to join us to share their personal stories, songs and teachings to guide us to a better understanding of First Nations, Métis and Inuit Culture, our shared history, our responsibility to the land, ourselves and each other. We welcome Women, Children, Youth and Two Spirit/LGBTQ2+ into the circle to learn and grow together. Come for one Tuesday or each week where we will focus on learning specific songs to share for events including Marches for Murdered and Missing Indigenous Women, Girls, Two Spirit/LGBTQ2+, Peoples, Environmental Initiatives and Community Gatherings. Please come with open hearts and open minds leaving our hurt behind us to move forward together in a good way, through the drum and rediscovering our united voices.


Details:

Tuesdays - 6:30pm - 8:30pm

Tuesday, February 11, 2020
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
*Tuesday, February 25, 2020

Tuesday, March 3, 2019
Tuesday, March 10, 2019
Tuesday, March 17, 2019
Tuesday, March 24, 2019
Tuesday, March 31, 2019

Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Tuesday, April 14, 2020
Tuesday, April 21, 2020
Tuesday, April 28, 2020

Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020

Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020

 


Location:

Arts Commons
Arts Learning Commons (Under the Stairs by Cafe)
205 - 8 Avenue SE
Calgary, AB


For additional information or to register, please contact;
          Chantal Chagnon
          Chantal@Cree8.ca
          403–404–7664


Facebook Event: https://www.facebook.com/events/188937798846739/

WHEN
April 14, 2020 at 6:30pm - September 01, 2020
WHERE
Arts Commons
205 8 Ave SE
Calgary, AB T2G 0K9
Canada
Google map and directions
CONTACT
Chantal Chagnon · · 4034047664
24 RSVPS
Caitlyn Howe Nadine Ducharme Rhiannon Denbigh Fran LeBlanc
See who else is RSVPing:
Caitlyn Howe
Nadine Ducharme
Rhiannon Denbigh
Fran LeBlanc

Will you come?

Reactions

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
  • Caitlyn Howe
    rsvped 2020-03-09 09:11:12 -0600
  • Nadine Ducharme
    rsvped +2 2020-03-08 11:51:31 -0600
  • Rhiannon Denbigh
    rsvped +4 2020-02-06 09:15:59 -0700
  • Fran LeBlanc
    rsvped 2020-02-05 18:31:19 -0700